The Anoka-Champlin Fire Department (ACFD) is a combination department which means it employs both full-time and paid-on-call firefighters. The Fire Chief and three full-time firefighters make up the full-time staffing with the assistance of a part-time Fire Department Administrative Assistant.  The City of Champlin is part of a Joint Powers Fire District that shares fire services with the City of Anoka. This Joint Powers Agreement (JPA) began in 1985.

The paid-on-call division consists of forty-four firefighters who respond to calls in each City. The Fire Department has two stations. Station No. 1 is located in Anoka and Station No. 2 is located in Champlin.

One of the most traditional Fire Departments in Minnesota the Anoka Fire Department was established in 1857 as the Protection Hook and Ladder company. Today ACFD is distinguished by its white vehicles. A nod to the days when Anoka firefighters used white horses to pull their steam drawn engines.

ACFD Station No. 1 is located in Anoka’s Public Safety Building at 275 Harrison Street.

ACFD Station No. 2 is located in Champlin’s Public Safety Building at 11955 Champlin Drive.

The Department recruits members throughout the year. If you are interested in serving on the fire department please contact us at or stop by Station No. 1 in Anoka to request an application.

HeartSafe Champlin 

The City of Champlin along with Champlin Police Department, Anoka Champlin Fire Department and Allina Health EMS have come together to make Champlin a HeartSafe Community.

Champlin HeartSafe

To learn more about HeartSafe or to sign up for classes please email us at, or message us on our Facebook Page

Emergency – 911

Non-Emergency Phone
Fire Station II (763) 923-7140
Fire Station II Fax (763) 421-5256


Fire Chief/Fire Marshal
Charlie Thompson
(763) 576-2861
fax (763) 576-2671

Fire Department Secretary
Jan Mayer
(763) 576-2863

On Duty Fire Inspector
(763) 576-2860

24-hour Fire Department General Information (763) 576-2860


District Chief #3
Todd Schewe
(763) 923-7140

Captain 21
Jeff Bickford
(763) 923-7140

Captain 22
Eric Babst
(763) 923-7140

Lieutenant 21
(763) 923-7140

Lieutenant 22
Joel Ostmoe
(763) 923-7140


Assistant Fire Chief
Jon Holmes
(763) 576-2860

District Chief #4
Ben Rakotz
(763) 576-2860

Captain 11
Joe Sharbono
(763) 576-2860

Captain 12
Tim Jones
(763) 576-2860

Lieutenant 11
Daniel Owens
(763) 576-2860

Lieutenant 12
Julius Langner
(763) 576-2860